fbpx
Ki-commerce

4 AI experts who fight algorithmic bias

January 25th 2019
AI Experts
Let's read the text
subscription

Required reading: 5 minutes

"It's not only possible to deal with AI, it's actually critical that you do." With this sentence Rachel Thomas, founder of the organization fast.ai, wants to motivate people with different professional backgrounds to get enthusiastic about artificial intelligence. We introduce you to four AI experts and their projects.


1. Rachel Thomas - founder of Fast.ai, author and spokeswoman

The doctor of mathematics and AI researcher was recently named one of the 20 most incredible women in the AI industry by Forbes magazine. Your company, Fast.aisupports non-profit projects and organizations with knowledge and implementation of artificial intelligence. The expert wants to abolish the exclusivity of AI research and make further education on deep learning and intelligent systems available free of charge. Rachel's enthusiasm for sharing information was inspired by her own background.

"We need more inappropriate people in the A.I. field."

Rachel Thomas


The doctor of mathematics always saw herself as an outsider and was often confronted with sexism, harassment and isolation during her studies in a male domain. Her supervisor even told her that she was too feminine to be successful and stopped the cooperation. As a data scientist and AI researcher, she later switched to the tech industry and experienced this environment as "toxic". The expert sees a high risk in the fact that people - who are responsible for such a toxic working environment - are now developing powerful AI technologies. That's why Rachel Thomas is committed to more diversity in the tech industry.

"We want to make deep learning as accessible as possible - even for users who use uncool languages like C#, uncool operating systems like Windows, uncool datasets (much smaller than Google and in areas you find obscure), and with uncool backgrounds (you may not have gone to Stanford).

Rachel Thomas


It therefore appeals in particular to people who are not confident enough to understand or even implement AI. It doesn't matter whether math is perceived as the biggest weakness or whether the training is second-rate: Not fitting into the picture can be an advantage. Every person has unique knowledge and an individual perspective. These valuable resources can either improve intelligent systems themselves or, in combination with AI, create undreamt-of added value.


2. Joy Boulamwini - computer scientist and activist, founder of the Algorithmic Justice League

The Ghanaian-American computer scientist is on a mission to stop an invisible, growing force. A force, which she herself calls the "coded gaze", also known as the term "algorithmic bias". As a student at Georgia Tech University, Joy Boulamwini developed a social robot to play the cuckoo game known from her childhood. The recognition of the face is an essential part of this posse. But there was a problem: The robot could not recognize its counterpart. The young scholarship holder managed to avoid the challenge by confronting the intelligent machine with her roommate. And I forgot the problem afterwards.

"It matters who programs, how we program, and why we program."

Joy Boulamwini


Years later, the programmer used general facial recognition software to develop an entertaining, intelligent tool. It turned out that the software only reacted when the dark-skinned expert put on a white mask. After a closer look, Boulamwini realized that the same (worldwide) technology was used in both cases. The underlying ML algorithms were trained on the basis of a one-sided data set and therefore never learned what a dark-skinned face looks like. The result: The software could only identify certain skin types and faces contained in the training data set.

"Social change must be a priority, not an afterthought."

Joy Boulamwini


Such algorithms are currently used to identify suspicious persons or to select applicants. Boulamwini recognized the dangerous potential and decided to do something about it. She launched the Algorithmic Justice League - a platform of the MIT Media Lab to identify prejudices by exchanging experiences. Their motto: Everyone can help combat the coded gaze. On codedgaze.com interested people can report prejudices or become testers of intelligent systems. In addition to combating algorithmic bias, the entrepreneur launched several other projects, including the Service Year Initiative to introduce Code4Rights, which helps young people develop meaningful technologies for their communities.


3rd Kate Crawford and Meredith Whittaker - founders of AI Now, researchers at Google and Microsoft

Kate Crawford is living proof that it is possible to enter the field of artificial intelligence at any time. Today's AI researcher started her career in the 1990s as part of the Australian electro music duo "B(if)tek". In 2008, Kate completed her doctorate at the University of Sydney, where she focused on technology research and its impact on the social aspects of our lives. Today she works as a professor at MIT, NYU and University of New South Wales as well as co-founder of various foundations. Her current research focuses on data discrimination and artificial intelligence as well as algorithmic accountability.

"New ethical frameworks for CI must go beyond ownership to account for powerful interests of industry, government and the military in the design and application of CI".

AI Now Institute


In 2016, Kate Crawford worked for Microsoft Research and New York University. Her colleague Meredith Whittaker had a similar position at Google Open Research at the same time. The two researchers joined forces with the White House Office of Science and Technology, the National Economic Council and the Information Law Institute of the NYU. Together they organised the "AI Now" Symposium to examine the future impact of AI. In 2017 this resulted in the AI Now Institutewhich investigates the influence and current technological status of intelligent systems. Research is currently focused on four key areas: Rights and freedoms, work and automation, bias and inclusion, and security and critical infrastructure. Numerous documents, lectures and study results are freely available for viewing.

bottom line

It is both encouraging and fascinating what can arise from knowledge, willpower and passion. Rachel, Joy, Kate and Meredith are undoubtedly pioneers in the fight against discrimination by artificial intelligence. Their work is already bearing fruit and inspired the emergence of similar institutions, such as the Ada Lovelace Institute (named after the founder of programming) in 2018. The individual stories of the four experts prove that AI can and must be accessible and understandable for everyone to achieve change. We can all influence technological development. Intelligent systems are still in their infancy and need to learn a lot. It's up to us to decide what that is.  

Picture: Photo by kinga, EyeEm

These contributions should please you

1 Comment

  • Reply "Enthusiasm for AI can make you blind" - Handelskraft speaker Kathleen Jaedtke and Tina Nord interviewed 31 January 2019 at 10:16

    [...] Technology and what consequences it can have for our society. Keywords: algorithmic bias and bias. Anyway, you never learn [...]

  • Comment now

fbpx
KI-Commerce

4 KI-Expertinnen, die algorithmische Voreingenommenheit bekämpfen

25. Januar 2019
KI Expertinnen
Lass dir den Text vorlesen
Subscribe

Benötigte Lesezeit: 5 Minuten

„Es ist nicht nur möglich, sich mit KI zu beschäftigen, es ist tatsächlich entscheidend, dass Sie es tun.“ Mit diesem Satz möchte Rachel Thomas, Gründerin der Organisation fast.ai, Menschen mit den verschiedensten beruflichen Hintergründen motivieren, sich für künstliche Intelligenz zu begeistern. Wir stellen euch vier KI-Expertinnen und ihre Projekte vor.


1. Rachel Thomas – Gründerin von Fast.ai, Autorin und Sprecherin

Die Doktorin der Mathematik und KI Forscherin wurde kürzlich vom Forbes Magazin zu einer der 20 unglaublichsten Frauen der KI-Branche gekürt. Ihr Unternehmen, Fast.ai, unterstützt gemeinnützige Projekte und Organisationen mit Wissen und der Implementierung von künstlicher Intelligenz. Die Expertin möchte die Exklusivität der KI Forschung aufheben und Weiterbildungen über Deep Learning und intelligente Systeme kostenlos zur Verfügung stellen. Rachels Begeisterung für die Weitergabe von Informationen, wurde durch ihren eigenen Werdegang inspiriert.

„Wir brauchen mehr unpassende Menschen im KI-Feld.“

Rachel Thomas


Die Doktorin der Mathematik sah sich selbst stets als Außenseiterin und wurde häufig mit Sexismus, Schikanierungen und Isolation während ihres Studiums in einer Männerdomäne konfrontiert. Ihr Doktorvater sagte ihr gar, sie sei zu feminin um erfolgreich zu sein und stoppte die Zusammenarbeit. Als Datenwissenschaftlerin und KI Forscherin wechselte sie später in die Tech-Industrie und erlebte auch diese Umgebung als “giftig”. Die Expertin sieht ein hohes Risiko in dem Umstand, dass Menschen – die solch ein toxisches Arbeitsumfeld verantworten – nun mächtige KI Technologien entwickeln. Daher setzt sich Rachel Thomas für mehr Vielfalt in der Tech-Industrie ein.

“Wir möchten Deep Learning so gut wie möglich zugänglich machen – auch für Benutzer, die uncoole Sprachen wie C #, uncoole Betriebssysteme wie Windows, uncoole Datasets verwenden (viel kleiner als bei Google und in Bereichen, die Sie als obskur empfinden) und mit uncoolen Hintergründen (vielleicht sind Sie nicht nach Stanford gegangen).”

Rachel Thomas


Sie spricht daher insbesondere Menschen an, die sich nicht zutrauen, KI zu verstehen oder gar zu implementieren. Egal, ob Mathe als größte Schwäche empfunden wird oder die Ausbildung zweitklassig ist: Nicht ins Bild zu passen, kann ein Vorteil sein. Jeder Mensch verfügt über einzigartiges Wissen und eine individuelle Perspektive. Diese wertvollen Ressourcen können entweder intelligente Systeme selbst verbessern oder in Kombination mit KI ungeahnten Mehrwert schaffen.


2. Joy Boulamwini – Informatikerin und Aktivistin, Gründerin der Algorithmic Justice League

Die ghanaisch-amerikanische Informatikerin ist auf einer Mission, eine unsichtbare, stärker werdende Kraft zu stoppen. Eine Kraft, die sie selbst als “codierten Blick” bezeichnet, auch bekannt unter dem Begriff “algorithmische Voreingenommenheit”. Bereits als Studentin an der Georgia Tech Universität entwickelte Joy Boulamwini einen sozialen Roboter, um mit ihm das aus Kindheitstagen bekannte Kuckuck-Spiel zu spielen. Das Erkennen des Gesichts ist ein essentielle Bestandteil dieser Posse. Doch es gab ein Problem: Der Roboter konnte sein Gegenüber nicht erkennen. Der jungen Stipendiatin gelang es die Herausforderung zu umgehen, indem sie der intelligenten Maschine ihre Mitbewohnerin gegenüber setzte. Und vergaß das Problem anschließend wieder.

“Es spielt eine Rolle wer programmiert, wie wir programmieren und warum wie programmieren.”

Joy Boulamwini


Jahre später, nutzte die Programmiererin eine allgemeine Gesichtserkennungs-Software zur Entwicklung eines unterhaltsamen, intelligenten Tools. Es stellte sich heraus, dass die Software nur dann reagierte, wenn die dunkelhäutige Expertin eine weiße Maske aufsetzte. Nach genauerem Hinschauen erkannte Boulamwini, dass in beiden Fällen dieselbe (weltweit verbreitete) Technologie verwendet wurde. Die zugrundeliegende ML-Algorithmen wurden anhand eines einseitigen Datensatzes trainiert und lernten daher nie, wie ein dunkelhäutiges Gesicht aussieht. Das Ergebnis: Die Software konnte nur bestimmte – im Trainingsdatensatz enthaltene – Hauttypen und Gesichter identifizieren.

„Sozialer Wandel muss Priorität haben und nicht erst nachträglich passieren.“

Joy Boulamwini


Solche Algorithmen kommen zur Zeit bei der Identifizierung verdächtiger Personen oder der Auswahl von Bewerbern zum Einsatz. Boulamwini erkannte das gefährliche Potenzial und beschloss etwas dagegen zu unternehmen. Sie lancierte die Algorithmic Justice Leagueeine Plattform des MIT Media Labs, um Vorurteile durch Erfahrungsaustausch zu identifizieren. Ihr Motto: Jeder kann helfen, den codierten Blick zu bekämpfen. Auf codedgaze.com können interessierte Menschen Vorurteile melden oder zum Tester von intelligenten Systemen werden. Neben der Bekämpfung der algorithmischen Voreingenommenheit, launchte die Unternehmerin verschiedene andere Projekte, unter anderem die Service Year Initiative zur Einführung von Code4Rights, die Jugendliche bei der Entwicklung sinnvoller Technologien für ihre Gemeinden unterstützt.


3. Kate Crawford und Meredith Whittaker – Gründerinnen von AI Now, Forscherinnen bei Google und Microsoft

Kate Crawford ist der lebende Beweis dafür, dass ein Einstieg in den Fachbereich künstliche Intelligenz jederzeit möglich ist. Die heutige KI-Forscherin startete ihre Karriere in den 1990er Jahren als Teil des australischen Elektro-Musik Duos “B(if)tek”. Quasi nebenberuflich, machte Kate 2008 ihren Doktor an der Universität von Sydney und widmete sich fortan der Erforschung von Technologien und deren Einfluss auf soziale Aspekte unseres Lebens. Heute arbeitet sie u.a. als Professorin am MIT, der NYU und University of New South Wales sowie als Mitgründerin verschiedener Stiftungen. Ihr aktueller Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf Daten-Diskriminierung und künstlicher Intelligenz sowie algorithmischer Verantwortlichkeit.

„Neue ethische Rahmenbedingungen für die KI müssen über die Eigenverantwortung hinausgehen, um mächtige Interessen der Industrie, der Regierung und des Militärs bei der Gestaltung und Anwendung von KI zur Rechenschaft zu ziehen“

AI Now Institute


Im Jahr 2016 arbeitete Kate Crawford für Microsoft Research und die New York University. Ihre Kollegin Meredith Whittaker hatte zur selben Zeit eine ähnliche Position bei Google Open Research. Die beiden Forscherinnen schlossen sich mit dem Büro für Wissenschaft und Technologie des Weißen Hauses sowie dem National Economic Council und dem Information Law Institute der NYU zusammen. Gemeinsam veranstalteten sie das “AI Now” Symposium, um die zukünftigen Auswirkungen der KI zu untersuchen. Daraus entstand 2017 das AI Now Institute, welches den Einfluss und aktuellen technologischen Status intelligenter Systeme erforscht. Derzeit konzentrieren sich die Forschungsarbeiten auf vier Schlüsselbereiche: Rechte und Freiheiten, Arbeit und Automatisierung, Befangenheit und Einbeziehung sowie Sicherheit und kritische Infrastruktur. Zahlreiche Dokumente, Vorträge und Studienergebnisse stehen frei zur Einsicht zur Verfügung.

Fazit

Es ist ermutigend und faszinierend zugleich, was aus Wissen, Willenskraft und Leidenschaft entstehen kann. Rachel, Joy, Kate und Meredith sind ohne Zweifel Vorreiterinnen auf dem Gebiet der Bekämpfung von Diskriminierung durch künstliche Intelligenz. Ihr Werk trägt bereits Früchte und inspirierte die Entstehung ähnlicher Institutionen, wie etwa die des britischen Ada Lovelace Institutes (benannt nach der Begründerin des Programmierens) im Jahr 2018. Die individuellen Geschichten der vier Expertinnen beweisen, dass KI für jeden zugänglich und verständlich sein kann und muss, um eine Veränderung zu erreichen. Wir alle können die technologische Entwicklung beeinflussen. Intelligente Systeme stecken noch in den Kinderschuhen und müssen viel lernen. Es ist an uns zu entscheiden, was das ist.  

Bild: Photo by kinga, EyeEm

Diese Beiträge dürften dir gefallen

1 Kommentar

  • Reply »Die Begeisterung für KI kann einen durchaus blind machen« – Handelskraft-Speaker Kathleen Jaedtke und Tina Nord im Interview 31. Januar 2019 at 10:16

    […] Technologie und welche Konsequenzen daraus für unsere Gesellschaft entstehen können. Stichwort: algorithmische Voreingenommenheit und Bias. Auf jeden Fall lernt man nie […]

  • Jetzt kommentieren