fbpx
Ki-pedia, Voice Search

What is NLP – Natural language processing?

May 1st, 2018
What is NLP
Let's read the text
subscription

Required reading: 2 minutes

The acronym NLP stands for the technical term "natural language processing", which means "machine processing of natural language". Computers learn to understand and process the spoken and written word. NLP is used, for example, in machine translation or voice search. Currently, the most important technical challenge is to enable meaningful dialogue between man and machine.

The initial combination of language and Artificial intelligence Goes back to Alan Turing . Already in 1950, the mathematician and computer scientist developed an idea of how people and computers can communicate with each other. He designed a question-and-answer concept that would deceive the human test person about the inhumanity of the other. Turing's test was not implemented until 1966, long after his death.

Areas of application of natural language processing

Today, machines can recognize the syntax of a set with 90% security and translate it into another language, for example. Answering complex questions in milliseconds, Intelligent language Assistants like Alexa Communicate with us, interpret the mood of an author and create texts independently. The latter is called the "natural Language generation" (natural text/Sprachgenerierung, Note. D. Red.Called.

As is customary in machine learning, data is the lifeblood of NLP. Departments that have a lot to do with language and content (= data) are therefore popular areas of application. Companies include:

  1. Customer service:The customer's mood on the phone is automatically analyzed. Based on that, he is assigned a relaxed employee.
  2. Localization of content:A newly created text is automatically translated into three other languages by a translation system.
  3. Public relations:Externally published texts containing the company name are automatically detected, scanned and analyzed for your mood.
  4. Compliance Management:In order to ensure compliance with standards and regulations, new contract documents are automatically scanned and compared with legal texts.

NLP to try Out

IBM is on the page Www.natural-language-understanding-demo.ng.bluemix.net A free demonstration of machine language comprehension available. Users can enter a text or URL and receive an analysis of the content immediately. These include the basic mood (positive/negative), the occurrence of emotions (anger, joy, etc.), frequently mentioned key words or structural information. For my article, the basic mood is rated as "neutral", for example. Unfortunately, the analysis result is only available in English.

Technical challenges for NLP

Machine processing of natural language is at its limits when it comes to ambiguities or correct conclusions . A person understands through the context what a word means. So the word "dandruff" can refer to either a gazebo, a fish or a skin disease. Computers still have difficulty recognizing the relevant meaning. A suitable recommendation for action is also a hurdle where machines often fail

My conclusion:Natural language processing is a fascinating area of AI and machine learning. It is astonishing how far the machine speech recognition and processing has developed since the 1950s and with which of course we now use it.

Cover picture: Photo by Юлия Абрамова, EyeEm

Sources: With Sloan & with CSAIL Artificial intelligence: Implications for Business strategy program

These contributions should please you

No comment

Comment now

fbpx
KI-Pedia, Sprachsuche

Was ist NLP – Natural Language Processing?

1. Mai 2018
Was ist NLP
Lass dir den Text vorlesen
Subscribe

Benötigte Lesezeit: 2 Minuten

Die Abkürzung NLP steht für den Fachbegriff “Natural Language Processing”, was übersetzt “maschinelle Verarbeitung natürlicher Sprache” bedeutet. Computer lernen, das gesprochene und geschriebene Wort zu verstehen und zu verarbeiten. Anwendung findet NLP zum Beispiel bei maschinellen Übersetzungen oder der Sprachsuche. Aktuell ist die wichtigste technische Herausforderung, sinnvolle Dialoge zwischen Mensch und Maschine zu ermöglichen.

Die initiale Kombination von Sprache und künstlicher Intelligenz geht auf Alan Turing zurück. Bereits 1950 entwickelte der Mathematiker und Informatiker eine Idee, wie Menschen und Computer miteinander kommunizieren können. Er entwarf ein Frage-Antwort-Konzept, welches die humane Testperson über die Unmenschlichkeit des Gegenübers hinwegtäuschen sollte. Umgesetzt wurde Turings Test erst 1966, lange nach seinem Tod.

Einsatzgebiete von Natural Language Processing

Heute können Maschinen die Syntax eines Satzes mit 90%iger Sicherheit erkennen und beispielsweise in eine andere Sprache übersetzen. Oder komplexe Fragen in Millisekunden beantworten, über intelligente Sprachassistenten wie Alexa mit uns kommunizieren, die Stimmung eines Autors deuten und eigenständig Texte erstellen. Letzteres wird als “Natural Language Generation” (natürliche Text-/Sprachgenerierung, Anm. d. Red.) bezeichnet.

Wie beim maschinellen Lernen üblich, sind Daten das Lebenselixier von NLP. Fachbereiche, die viel mit Sprache und Content (= Daten) zu tun haben, sind daher beliebte Einsatzgebiete. In Unternehmen zählen dazu etwa:

  1. Kundenservice: Die Stimmung des Kunden am Telefon wird automatisch analysiert. Basierend darauf wird ihm z.B. ein entspannter Mitarbeiter zugeteilt.
  2. Lokalisierung von Content: Ein neu erstellter Text wird von einem Übersetzungssystem automatisch in drei weitere Sprachen übersetzt.
  3. Öffentlichkeitsarbeit: Extern veröffentlichte Texte, die den Unternehmensnamen enthalten, werden automatisch erkannt, gescannt und auf ihre Stimmung analysiert.
  4. Compliance Management: Um die Beachtung von Normen und Vorschriften sicherzustellen, werden neue Vertragsdokumente automatisch gescannt und mit Gesetzestexten abgeglichen.

NLP zum Ausprobieren

IBM stellt auf der Seite www.natural-language-understanding-demo.ng.bluemix.net eine kostenlose Demonstration des maschinellen Sprachverständnisses zur Verfügung. Nutzer können einen Text oder eine URL eingeben und erhalten umgehend eine Analyse des Contents. Dazu zählen etwa die Grundstimmung (positiv/negativ), das Vorkommen von Emotionen (Wut, Freude etc.), häufig erwähnte Schlüsselworte oder strukturelle Informationen. Für meinen Artikel wird die Grundstimmung z.B. als “neutral” bewertet. Leider ist das Analyse-Ergebnis nur auf Englisch verfügbar.

Technische Herausforderungen für NLP

An seine Grenzen stößt die maschinelle Verarbeitung natürlicher Sprache, wenn es um Doppeldeutigkeiten oder korrekte Schlussfolgerungen geht. Ein Mensch versteht durch den Kontext, was ein Wort bedeutet. So kann das Wort “Schuppen” sich entweder auf eine Gartenlaube, einen Fisch oder eine Hautkrankheit beziehen. Computer haben noch Schwierigkeiten, die treffende Bedeutung zu erkennen. Auch eine passende Handlungsempfehlung ist eine Hürde, an der Maschinen oft noch scheitern

Mein Fazit: Natural Language Processing ist ein faszinierender Bereich der KI und des maschinellen Lernens. Es ist erstaunlich, wie weit sich die maschinelle Spracherkennung- und Verarbeitung seit den 50er Jahren entwickelt hat und mit welcher Selbstverständlichkeit wir sie inzwischen nutzen.

Titelbild: Photo by Юлия Абрамова, EyeEm

Quellen: MIT Sloan & MIT CSAIL Artificial Intelligence: Implications for business strategy program

Diese Beiträge dürften dir gefallen

Kein Kommentar

Jetzt kommentieren