fbpx
Ki-commerce

Man or machine? Three use cases for robots

May 10th, 2018
Application examples for robots
Let's read the text
subscription

Required reading time: 4 minutes

Robots inspire and frighten many people equally. Images of machines that can run, jump, roll and open doors on their own regularly go around the world. We present three practical examples of the use of intelligent machines from the USA and Asia that are already a reality.

1) Robots in gastronomy

Robots have been part of everyday life in Singapore since 2016. Tourists visiting the city-state in Southeast Asia meet the machine helpers in numerous luxury hotels. So Yoshi and Yolanda are taking care of the room service and drop off towels, toiletries or a snack without human assistance. The singing robots also take over birthday surprises. In the same house the Yobot takes care of the luggage. and stows it automatically until the guests want to pick it up. Similar autonomous colleagues work for the M&C hotel group, Sofitel or Park Avenue Rochester Hotel.

All robots can independently operate the elevator, recognize the correct floor and call the guest when the correct room has been reached. The design of the machines usually does without arms or hands. And not only because of the technical complexity of gripping. Rather, a limited functionality the jobs of human colleagues. After all, someone has to load the rolling butlers and remove waste. A kind of exception is the kitchen robot Ausca, which prepares fried eggs in the restaurant "Beast and Butterflies".

Numerous videos on the web show the Gastro robots in action. However, it is always important to depict the human colleagues in the immediate vicinity. The consistent message: Robots do not replace humans, but enable them to concentrate on other activities.

2) Robots in transportation

Anyone who is currently obtaining their driving licence should consider whether it is still worth the money. Because self-propelled cars will be reality from July 2018, zat least in San Francisco. Computer scientist Andrew Ng announced in March this year that the company Drive.ai is providing a new means of public transport within a defined route. The autonomous vehicle does without a driver and moves independently from station to station.

The saves costs and is more reliable than personnel. Because unlike humans, a human being who has been artificial intelligence (AI) and there's no blind spot. This considerably reduces the risk of accidents and increases efficiency. This development should have a direct impact on jobs in the transport sector. The professions of taxi or truck driver could become obsolete through self-propelled cars. 

Although companies such as Google, Uber or Drive.ai are pushing ahead with the further development of autonomous vehicles, there are challenges that are slowing this process down. Manufacturing intelligent cars is a highly complex and cost-intensive process. Dr. Park Byung Joon, senior lecturer at SIM University, told Channel News Asia that a person-controlled car will be cheaper than a self-propelled car until 2030.. He referred his statement to a corresponding pilot project which is currently being carried out in Singapore.

In addition to the high costs, technical difficulties in the field of artificial intelligence should also be mentioned. For example, algorithms cannot yet correctly interpret the gestures of a traffic policeman or construction worker. And although machine-controlled vehicles already move without problems in the rain, there are no problems with the Snow or fog an obstacle. It's true Google announced advances in this area at the annual developer fair Google I/O 2018. Nevertheless, it will still take a few years until we can do without our driving licence.

3) Robots in retail trade

Man versus machine is also the name of the game in supermarkets. On average, an employee needs 25 hours for a inventory and achieves a 65 percent correct result. It is therefore a lengthy process with a questionable result. This strategic business challenge of the retail trade addresses several companies at the same time. In the USA, Simbe Robotics and Bossa Nova have made it their goal to solve the problem of to be solved by automation. Both companies offer robots which autonomously scan shelves and products. The machines detect in real time the number of products in stock, price errors or necessary repeat orders. For a complete inspection, the intelligent assistants need on average half an hour and achieve a 95 percent correct result.. Numbers that cannot be topped by humans. Ideally, robots such as Tally (Simbe Robotics) help to increase sales and reduce costs.

The new technology is already being used in the American supermarket chains Target, Walmart and Schnucks. The responsible persons of all participating companies emphasize, that it wasn't about replacing employees. Rather, they would now have the opportunity to take more care of customer service, sell products and take over goods receiving and shelf replenishment. The robot is presented as a helpful colleague, not as a competitor.

My conclusion:Robots save time, money and minimize the risk of accidents. They perform simple tasks and allow employees to take care of less repetitive tasks. Due to the comparatively high acquisition costs, the autonomous helpers have so far been reserved for luxury hotels or large supermarket chains. Even there they are limited in use at the moment. With the further development of capabilities and decreasing price, robots will become part of our everyday lives within the next 15 to 20 years.

Sources:

  • Photo by Grlls Mnmxms, EyeEm
  • https://www.wired.com/story/self-driving-cars-texas-frisco-driveai/
  • https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/autonomous-vehicle-trials-to-be-expanded-beyond-one-north-khaw-8972562
  • https://twitter.com/andrewyng/status/882711849392680960
  • https://medium.com/@andrewng/self-driving-cars-are-here-aea1752b1ad0
  • https://futurestores.wbresearch.com/simbe-robotics-innovative-shelf-auditing-technology-strategy-ty-u
  • https://www.postscapes.com/pulse/tally-the-retail-shelf-auditing-robot/
  • https://futurestores.wbresearch.com/simbe-robotics-innovative-shelf-auditing-technology-strategy-ty-u
  • http://insideunmannedsystems.com/robots-in-retail/
  • https://www.tripzilla.com/yotel-singapore-twin-robots/69784
  • https://www.straitstimes.com/business/companies-markets/m-social-singapore-bags-awards-with-help-from-robot
  • https://www.businessinsider.sg/robots-are-taking-singapores-hotel-industry-by-storm-heres-where-to-go-for-some-robot-hospitality/

MIT Sloan & MIT CSAIL Artificial Intelligence: Implications for business strategy program 2018-04-04

These contributions should please you

No comment

Comment now

fbpx
KI-Commerce

Mensch oder Maschine? Drei Beispiele für den Einsatz von Robotern

10. Mai 2018
Einsatzbeispiele für Roboter
Lass dir den Text vorlesen
Subscribe

Benötigte Lesezeit: 4 Minuten

Roboter begeistern und ängstigen viele Menschen gleichermaßen. Bilder von Maschinen, die eigenständig laufen, springen, rollen und Türen öffnen können, gehen regelmäßig um die Welt. Wir stellen drei praktische Beispiele für den Einsatz intelligenter Maschinen aus den USA und Asien vor, die bereits jetzt Realität sind.

1) Roboter in der Gastronomie

In Singapur gehören Roboter bereits seit 2016 zum Alltag. Touristen, die den Stadtstaat in Südostasien besuchen, begegnen den maschinellen Helfern in zahlreichen Luxus-Hotels. So kümmern sich Yoshi und Yolanda im Yotel um den Zimmerservice und bringen ohne menschliche Unterstützung Handtücher, Toilettenartikel oder einen Snack vorbei. Auch Geburtstagsüberraschungen übernehmen die singenden Roboter. Im selben Haus kümmert sich der Yobot um das Gepäck und verstaut es automatisiert, bis die Gäste es abholen möchten. Ähnliche autonome Kollegen arbeiten etwa für die M&C Hotelgruppe, im Sofitel oder im Park Avenue Rochester Hotel.

Alle Roboter können eigenständig den Fahrstuhl bedienen, die richtige Etage erkennen und den Gast anrufen, wenn das korrekte Zimmer erreicht wurde. Dabei verzichtet das Design der Maschinen meist auf Arme oder Hände. Und das nicht nur wegen der technischen Komplexität des Greifens. Vielmehr sichert eine limitierte Funktionalität die Jobs der menschlichen Kollegen. Schließlich muss jemand die rollenden Buttler bestücken und Abfall entnehmen. Eine Art Ausnahme bildet der Küchenroboter Ausca, der im Restaurant “Beast and Butterflies” Spiegeleier zubereitet.

Zahlreiche Videos im Web zeigen die Gastro-Roboter im Einsatz. Es wird jedoch immer darauf Wert gelegt, auch die menschlichen Kollegen in der näheren Umgebung abzubilden. Die übereinstimmende Botschaft: Roboter ersetzen den Menschen nicht, sondern ermöglichen ihm sich auf andere Tätigkeiten zu konzentrieren.

2) Roboter im Transportwesen

Wer gerade seinen Führerschein macht, sollte sich überlegen ob dieser sein Geld noch wert ist. Denn selbstfahrende Autos sind ab Juli 2018 Realität, zumindest in San Francisco. Informatiker Andrew Ng verkündete im März diesen Jahres, dass das Unternehmen Drive.ai ein neues öffentliches Verkehrsmittel innerhalb einer festgelegten Route zur Verfügung stellt. Das autonome Vehikel verzichtet auf einen Fahrer und bewegt sich eigenständig von Station zu Station.

Das spart Kosten und ist verlässlicher als Personal. Denn im Gegensatz zum Menschen, benötigt ein durch künstliche Intelligenz gesteuertes Auto keine Pause und kennt keinen toten Winkel. Das reduziert das Unfallrisiko erheblich und steigert die Effizienz. Diese Entwicklung dürfte Jobs im Transportwesen direkt beeinflussen. Die Berufe des Taxi- oder LKW-Fahrers könnten durch selbstfahrende Autos obsolet werden. 

Obwohl Unternehmen wie Google, Uber oder Drive.ai die Weiterentwicklung autonomer Fahrzeuge mit Hochdruck vorantreiben, gibt es Herausforderungen die diesen Prozess verlangsamen. Intelligente Autos herzustellen ist ein hochkomplexer und kostenintensiver Vorgang. Dr. Park Byung Joon, Senior Dozent an der SIM University, sagte gegenüber Channel News Asia, dass ein personen-gesteuertes Auto bis 2030 günstiger sein wird, als ein selbstfahrendes. Er bezog seine Aussage auf ein entsprechendes Pilotprojekt, welches aktuell in Singapur durchgeführt wird.

Neben den hohen Kosten sind technische Schwierigkeiten im Bereich der künstlichen Intelligenz zu erwähnen. So können Algorithmen Gesten eines Verkehrspolizisten oder Bauarbeiters noch nicht korrekt interpretieren. Und obwohl maschinell gesteuerte Fahrzeuge sich bereits bei Regen ohne Probleme fortbewegen, bleiben Schnee oder Nebel ein Hindernis. Zwar verkündete Google Fortschritte in diesem Bereich auf der jährlichen Entwicklermesse Google I/O 2018. Dennoch dürfte es noch einige Jahre dauern, bis wir auf den Führerschein verzichten können.

3) Roboter im Einzelhandel

Mensch versus Maschine heißt es auch im Supermarkt. Ein Mitarbeiter benötigt im Schnitt 25 Stunden für eine Inventur und erzielt ein zu 65 Prozent korrektes Ergebnis. Es handelt sich also um einen langwierigen Prozess mit einem fragwürdigen Resultat. Diese geschäfts-strategische Herausforderung des Einzelhandels adressieren gleich mehrere Unternehmen. In den USA haben es sich Simbe Robotics oder Bossa Nova zum Ziel gemacht, das Problem durch Automatisierung zu lösen. Beide Firmen bieten Roboter an, die autonom Regale und Produkte scannen. Die Maschinen erkennen in Echtzeit die Anzahl der vorrätigen Produkte, Preisfehler oder notwendige Nachbestellungen. Für eine vollständige Prüfung benötigen die intelligenten Assistenten im Schnitt eine halbe Stunde und erzielen ein zu 95 Prozent korrektes Ergebnis. Zahlen, die durch den Menschen nicht zu toppen sind. Im Idealfall helfen Roboter wie Tally (Simbe Robotics) den Umsatz zu steigern und die Kosten zu senken.

Eingesetzt wird die neue Technologie bereits in den amerikanischen Supermarktketten Target, Walmart und Schnucks. Die Verantwortlichen aller beteiligten Unternehmen betonen, dass es nicht darum ginge Mitarbeiter zu ersetzen. Vielmehr hätten diese nun die Möglichkeit sich verstärkt um den Kundenservice zu kümmern, Produkte zu verkaufen und die Warenannahme und Regalauffüllung zu übernehmen. Der Roboter wird als hilfreicher Kollege dargestellt, nicht als Konkurrenz.

Mein Fazit: Roboter sparen Zeit, Geld und minimieren das Unfallrisiko. Sie erledigen einfache Aufgaben und ermöglichen Mitarbeitern sich um weniger repetitive Tätigkeiten zu kümmern. Durch die vergleichsweise hohen Anschaffungskosten bleiben die autonomen Helfer bisher Luxushotels oder großen Supermarktketten vorbehalten. Selbst dort sind sie im Moment limitiert im Einsatz. Mit der weiteren Entwicklung der Fähigkeiten und sinkendem Preis werden Roboter innerhalb der nächsten 15 bis 20 Jahre zu unserem Alltag gehören.

Quellen:

  • Photo by Grlls Mnmxms, EyeEm
  • https://www.wired.com/story/self-driving-cars-texas-frisco-driveai/
  • https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/autonomous-vehicle-trials-to-be-expanded-beyond-one-north-khaw-8972562
  • https://twitter.com/andrewyng/status/882711849392680960
  • https://medium.com/@andrewng/self-driving-cars-are-here-aea1752b1ad0
  • https://futurestores.wbresearch.com/simbe-robotics-innovative-shelf-auditing-technology-strategy-ty-u
  • https://www.postscapes.com/pulse/tally-the-retail-shelf-auditing-robot/
  • https://futurestores.wbresearch.com/simbe-robotics-innovative-shelf-auditing-technology-strategy-ty-u
  • http://insideunmannedsystems.com/robots-in-retail/
  • https://www.tripzilla.com/yotel-singapore-twin-robots/69784
  • https://www.straitstimes.com/business/companies-markets/m-social-singapore-bags-awards-with-help-from-robot
  • https://www.businessinsider.sg/robots-are-taking-singapores-hotel-industry-by-storm-heres-where-to-go-for-some-robot-hospitality/

MIT Sloan & MIT CSAIL Artificial Intelligence: Implications for business strategy program 2018-04-04

Diese Beiträge dürften dir gefallen

Kein Kommentar

Jetzt kommentieren