fbpx
Ki-pedia, Visual Search

What is visual search?

April 13th, 2018
Visual Search
Let's read the text
subscription

Required reading: 2 minutes

The term "visual search" in e-commerce describes how to find information with a photo as a search entry. In contrast to the text search, the use of the written word is omitted. The search result is usually similar or identical images. It is one of three types of image search that have evolved since the turn of the millennium.

1) The image search via text input: A search term is entered via text in the search box in Google image search. The search result is photos that contain the searched word in the metadata. This classic image search was developed and published by Google at 2001.

2) Reverse image search via picture file or URL: For example, a picture file or URL is uploaded in the TinEye visual search engine. No text is entered. The search results are similar images. TinEye is still claiming to be the inventor of the inverse image Search (2008).

3) The visual search via pixel-to-pixel comparison: A picture is taken with the smartphone camera. An app — or a tool like Google Lens — provides direct matching information about the photo. Firefly (Amazon) was one of the first apps that included such a feature in the year 2014.

The visual search with Pinterest and Google Lens

A breakthrough was experienced by the visual search between 2015 and 2017. The image-based search engine Pinterest first published the "in-Picture search" and two years later "Pinterest Lens". Compared to the search, both features allowed a much faster and more convenient way to find images on the web. Thus, the well-known social media platform was the innovation leader in this field and today 600 million visual searches per month via lens. About half a year later, in the fall of 2017, Google launched a very similar search tool under the name "Google Lens". This was initially only available to owners of the Google smartphone "pixel". But that's actually changing.

The visual search with Pinterest lens

How Pinterest Lens Works

The technological background

Visual search is technologically based on machine learning, a sub-area of the Artificial intelligence. Large amounts of data Allow machines to recognize patterns and relationships between individual objects. If photos are the basis, pixels can be compared and identical files detected in seconds. This process is also called "Machine Vision" Referred. Almost all major technology companies are doing research in this area and Continuously optimize your visual search capabilities. For example, anyone who uses the app from Amazon or Lidl will find a camera icon in the search bar that activates the visual. 

My conclusion:If you have tried the "in-picture search" of Pinterest or Google lens once, you may be able to understand my fascination for this kind of finding. I believe there are many areas of application for visual search that can simplify our lives.

Attention: The term "visual search" is also used in psychology.

 

Cover of Jonas Barre, www.smartvizual.com

Source:

Www.newsroom.pinterest.com/en/post/celebrating-one-year-of-pinterest-lens

These contributions should please you

No comment

Comment now

fbpx
KI-Pedia, Visuelle Suche

Was ist visuelle Suche?

13. April 2018
visuelle Suche
Lass dir den Text vorlesen
Subscribe

Benötigte Lesezeit: 2 Minuten

Mit dem Begriff “visuelle Suche” wird im E-Commerce das Finden von Informationen mit einem Foto als Sucheingabe beschrieben. Im Gegensatz zur Textsuche entfällt hier die Verwendung vom geschrieben Wort. Das Suchergebnis sind in der Regel ähnliche oder identische Bilder. Es handelt sich um eine von drei Arten der Bildersuche, die sich seit der Jahrtausendwende nacheinander entwickelt haben.

1) Die Bildersuche via Texteingabe: Ein Suchbegriff wird via Text in das Suchfeld bei der Google-Bildersuche eingegeben. Das Suchresultat sind Fotos, die das gesuchte Wort in den Metadaten enthalten. Diese klassische Bildersuche wurde um 2001 von Google entwickelt und veröffentlicht.

2) Die umgekehrte Bildersuche via Bilddatei oder URL: Eine Fotodatei oder URL wird beispielsweise in der visuellen Suchmaschine TinEye hochgeladen. Die Eingabe von Text entfällt. Das Suchergebnis sind ähnliche Bilder. TinEye erhebt bis heute den Anspruch, der Erfinder der umgekehrten Bildersuche (2008) zu sein.

3) Die visuelle Suche via Pixel-zu-Pixel Vergleich: Mit der Smartphone-Kamera wird ein Bild aufgenommen. Eine App – oder ein Werkzeug wie Google Lens – liefern direkt passende Informationen zu dem Foto. Firefly (Amazon) war eine der ersten Apps, die im Jahr 2014 eine solche Funktion beinhalteten.

Die visuelle Suche mit Pinterest und Google Lens

Einen Durchbruch erlebte die visuelle Suche zwischen 2015 und 2017. Die bildbasierte Suchmaschine Pinterest veröffentlichte zunächst die “In-Bild-Suche” und zwei Jahre später „Pinterest Lens“. Verglichen mit der Textsuche, erlaubten beide Features eine wesentlich schnellere und bequemere Art Bilder im Web zu finden. Damit war die bekannte Social Media Plattform Innovationsführer in diesem Bereich und verzeichnet heute 600 Millionen visuelle Suchen pro Monat via Lens. Etwa ein halbes Jahr später, im Herbst 2017, launchte Google ein ganz ähnliches Such-Werkzeug unter dem Namen “Google Lens”. Dieses war zunächst nur für Besitzer des Google Smartphones “Pixel” zugänglich. Doch das ändert sich aktuell.

Die visuelle Suche mit Pinterest Lens

So funktioniert Pinterest Lens

Der technologische Hintergrund

Visuelle Suche basiert technologisch gesehen auf maschinellem Lernen, einem Teilgebiet der Künstlichen Intelligenz. Große Datenmengen erlauben es Maschinen, Muster und Zusammenhänge zwischen einzelnen Objekten zu erkennen. Sind Fotos die Basis, können Pixel verglichen und identische Dateien in Sekundenschnelle erkannt werden. Dieser Prozess wird auch als maschinelles Sehen bezeichnet. Beinahe alle großen Technologiekonzerne forschen in diesem Bereich und optimieren ihre visuellen Suchfunktionen fortlaufend. Wer zum Beispiel die App von Amazon oder Lidl verwendet, findet in der Suchleiste ein Kamera-Symbol, welches das visuelle Finden aktiviert. 

Mein Fazit: Wer die “In-Bild-Suche” von Pinterest oder Google Lens einmal ausprobiert hat, kann meine Faszination für diese Art des Findens vielleicht nachvollziehen. Ich glaube, dass es zahlreiche Einsatzgebiete für visuelle Suche gibt, die unser Leben vereinfachen können.

Achtung: Der Begriff „visuelle Suche“ wird auch in der Psychologie verwendet.

 

Titelbild von Jonas Barre, www.smartvizual.com

Quelle:

www.newsroom.pinterest.com/en/post/celebrating-one-year-of-pinterest-lens

Diese Beiträge dürften dir gefallen

Kein Kommentar

Jetzt kommentieren