fbpx
Visual Search

Google I/O 2018:4 Visual innovations from the developer conference

May 8th, 2018
Google I/O 2018 new features in visual search
Let's read the text
subscription

Required reading: 2 minutes

On May 8th, 2018, Google broadcast live via YouTube the keynote of its annual developer conference from California. CEO Sundar Pichai and other leading employees of the tech company presented innovations that can influence our lives in the future. We have watched and present you four innovations around visual search.

Google lens and Google Photos are the most important visual tools of the company from Silicon Valley. The most interesting innovations combine machine vision with maps or the Intelligent assistant. Almost all new features will be available in Google Assistant, the pixel phone and on Android devices (e.g. LG, Sony) and rolled out within the next weeks and months.

1) language and visual search are growing together

Product manager Lilian Ricon announced that the Google Assistant will be more closely linked to a screen in the future. This allows users to watch YouTube videos via Voice Command Or make video calls without touching the screen.

Google Maps with new visuals in real time

Google Maps with new visuals in real time

2) Finding the right way with machine vision

More applause was reaped by the new version of maps, the Google Navigation tool. The innovations of Vice-President Aparna Chennapragada were presented, which put their focus on the visual search with the smartphone from the very beginning. Google combines finding via camera with navigation: Users can not only track the right path on a drawn map, but also see, for example, directional arrows in the environment in real time. In addition, important Orientation points displayed (Augmented reality). The visual input makes it even easier to find an unknown address.

3) lens makes it easy to find fashion 

The next evolutionary stage of the Visual Search Tool "Lens" was eagerly awaited. Currently, Lens uses machine vision to make objects or e.g. Sights and provide relevant information. three additional features will be rolled out next month.

  1. Recognition:The smartphone camera (with the help of NLP) recognize text on photographed documents and allows the user to copy and cut them.
  2. Style match:Lens recognizes fashion and searches for similar products online, which can then be purchased.
  3. Real: Lens will no longer need an additional tab (click) to detect image information. Instead, it will suffice to direct the camera to an object. Helpful input is then displayed in real time.
Colorize Google Photos

Colorize Google Photos

4) Google Photos makes black and white photographs colorful

Google Photos is also waiting for several new features. Sundar Pichai presented this in person and showed, for example, automatic image optimization. The CEO, however, generated enthusiasm with the ability to automatically color old black and white photos. A nice toy that will surely make many memories more vivid.

My conclusion: The keywords Artificial Intelligence (AI), Machine learning (ML) And deep learning dominated the live broadcast of the keynote. If you are enthusiastic about these overarching topics, you should expect all the above mentioned updates and innovations with great pleasure. However, Google did not provide any groundbreaking developments. Instead, the focus was on the evolution of existing tools.

Cover Photo: Pixaby

These contributions should please you

No comment

Comment now

fbpx
Visuelle Suche

Google I/O 2018: 4 visuelle Innovationen von der Entwicklerkonferenz

8. Mai 2018
Google I/O 2018 Neuerungen in der visuelle Suche
Lass dir den Text vorlesen
Subscribe

Benötigte Lesezeit: 2 Minuten

Am 8. Mai 2018 übertrug Google live via YouTube die Keynote seiner jährlichen Entwicklerkonferenz aus Kalifornien. CEO Sundar Pichai und andere führende Mitarbeiter des Tech-Unternehmens stellten Innovationen vor, die unser Leben künftig beeinflussen können. Wir haben zugeschaut und stellen euch vier Neuerungen rund um visuelle Suche vor.

Google Lens und Google Fotos sind die wichtigsten visuellen Werkzeuge des Unternehmens aus Silicon Valley. Die interessantesten Innovationen verbinden maschinelles Sehen mit Maps oder dem intelligenten Assistenten. Fast alle Neuerungen werden im Google Assistant, dem Pixel Phone und auf Android Geräten (z.B. LG, Sony) verfügbar sein und innerhalb der kommenden Wochen und Monate ausgerollt.

1) Sprach- und visuelle Suche wachsen zusammen

Produktmanagerin Lilian Ricon verkündete, dass der Google Assistant künftig stärker mit einem Bildschirm verknüpft werden soll. Dies erlaubt Nutzern, YouTube Videos via Sprachkommando aufzurufen oder Videoanrufe zu tätigen, ohne den Bildschirm zu berühren.

Google Maps mit neuen visuellen Hinweisen in Echtzeit

Google Maps mit neuen visuellen Hinweisen in Echtzeit

2) Den richtigen Weg finden mit maschinellem Sehen

Mehr Beifall erntete die neue Version von Maps, dem Navigationswerkzeug von Google. Vorgestellt wurden die Innovationen von Vize Präsidentin Aparna Chennapragada, die von Anfang an ihren Fokus auf die visuelle Suche mit dem Smartphone legte. Google kombiniert das Finden via Kamera mit Navigation: Nutzer können nicht nur den richtigen Weg auf einer gezeichneten Landkarte nachverfolgen, sondern sehen z.B. Richtungspfeile in der Umgebung in Echtzeit. Zusätzlich werden wichtige Orientierungspunkte eingeblendet (Augmented Reality). Dank des visuellen Inputs wird das Finden einer unbekannten Adresse noch einfacher.

3) Lens erleichtert das Finden von Mode 

Die nächste Evolutionsstufe des visuellen Suchwerkzeuges “Lens” wurde mit Spannung erwartet. Aktuell nutzt Lens maschinelles Sehen, um Gegenstände oder z.B. Sehenswürdigkeiten zu erkennen und relevante Informationen bereitzustellen. Im kommenden Monat werden drei zusätzliche Features ausgerollt.

  1. Texterkennung: Die Smartphone-Kamera wird (mit Hilfe von NLP) Text auf fotografierten Dokumenten erkennen und ermöglicht dem Nutzer diesen zu kopieren und auszuschneiden.
  2. Style Match: Lens erkennt Mode und sucht nach ähnlichen Produkten online, die anschließend gekauft werden können.
  3. Echtzeit: Lens wird keinen zusätzlichen Tab (Klick) mehr benötigen, um Bildinformationen zu erkennen. Stattdessen wird es genügen, die Kamera auf ein Objekt zu richten. Hilfreicher Input wird dann in Echtzeit angezeigt.
Google Fotos kolorieren

Google Fotos kolorieren

4) Google Fotos macht Schwarzweißfotografien bunt

Google Fotos wartet ebenfalls mit mehreren neuen Funktionen auf. Sundar Pichai stellte diese persönlich vor und zeigte zum Beispiel die automatische Bildoptimierung. Begeisterung erzeugte der CEO jedoch mit der Möglichkeit, alte Schwarzweißfotos automatisch zu kolorieren. Ein nettes Spielzeug, das sicherlich viele Erinnerungen lebendiger macht.

Mein Fazit: Die Stichworte Artificial Intelligence (AI), Machine Learning (ML) und Deep Learning dominierten die Liveübertragung der Keynote. Wer sich für diese übergreifenden Themen begeistert, dürfte alle erwähnten Updates und Neuerungen mit großer Freude erwarten. Dennoch stellte Google keine bahnbrechenden Entwicklungen vor. Stattdessen stand die Evolution bestehender Tools im Fokus.

Titelbild: Pixaby

Diese Beiträge dürften dir gefallen

Kein Kommentar

Jetzt kommentieren