fbpx
Ki-commerce

Alexa can save lives: artificial Intelligence in health care

April 12th, 2018
AI in healthcare
Let's read the text
subscription

Required reading time: 3 minutes

Siri, Alexa and Co. allow more autonomy and independence for people with disabilities. The popular language assistants are only one of many possible applications of artificial intelligence in the health care sector: Machine learning made easier diagnostic procedures or the communication between doctors and patients. But there are also disadvantages.

56 million smartspeakers to be sold worldwide in 2018, estimates the global analysis company Canalys. Ovum, a global research and consulting firm, predicts that by 2021 there will be more digital assistants than people in the world. Artificial intelligence is already integrated in washing machines, cars or light switches. In the long run, numerous objects in our environment will understand, respond to, or even act independently of voice commands. But why is this technology so successful?

Less barriers due to language assistants

Language is a natural part of our lives and occupies only a few brain areas. The average person can speak 150 words per minute, but type only 40 words per minute. Voice navigation is therefore faster, less tiring and more intuitive than (almost) any other form of handling.

Another important advantage of Siri, Cortana or Alexa is the accessibility. This eliminates the need to enter text when interacting with a language assistant and thus the need to be able to read and write. A tremendous advance, not only for dyslexics. The eyes are also no longer needed, for example to read through a definition or place an order on the Internet. The wizard reads the written word aloud instead. This allows visually impaired or blind people more convenient access to web content. For paralyzed people, freedom of sight and hands also mean new independence and autonomy. The customer reviews on the Amazon product page for the language assistant "Echo" tell numerous stories about those affected.

If the body's own abilities are limited and the risk of accident increases, Alexa. Google Home and Co. even become life savers. For example, in the event of a fall within one's own four walls with serious injury: a simple voice command informs either the emergency call or relatives within seconds.

Alexa in the nursing home

A pilot project in the Carlsbad by the Sea retirement settlement near San Diego (USA) investigated whether language assistants are useful for seniors. In February 2017, the trial series brought together the Amazon language assistant Alexa and the residents of the community. The aim was to explore the utility of modern technology for older people (80 years and older). The result surprised even the responsible organisation Front Porch Center for Innovation and Wellbeing.

  • 75% used their language assistant at least once a day
  • 100% had the feeling that Alexa is a relief in everyday life
  • 71.43% felt more connected to family, friends and community

The biggest challenge for the focus group was to formulate search queries in such a way that Alexa understands them. In addition, the voice pitch of the intelligent device caused problems for some participants with hearing aids. Amazon is currently checking whether the highs and lows of the smartspeaker can be adjusted manually in future.

Artificial intelligence cannot replace a doctor

The spread of this voice-controlled hardware is evolving synchronously with AI-based health applications. The areas of application go far beyond assistance in everyday life. Machine Learning is the basis for numerous apps that connect doctors with patients quickly and precisely or make complex data more understandable. Artificial intelligence can predict dengue fever epidemics temporally and geographically, detect tumors, help blind people see or diagnose autism in children. The first expert system of this kind was developed by Edward Shortliffe at Stanford in the early 1970s. MYCIN optimized the intake of antibiotics depending on the disease to avoid overdoses.

AI-based apps for your health

Apps for your health, based on Machine Learning & Co - Design by Jonas Barre, www.smartvizual.com

Despite fundamental progress, AI-based technologies have been slow to establish themselves in medicine. The reason: in healthcare data protection is a particularly critical issue. Patient information in particular is highly sensitive and legally protected for good reasons. Attractive growth figures therefore remain a challenge.

And there are other restrictions: Machines can't express, for what reason they have achieved a result. While computer-generated "suggestions" support a diagnosis, a physician's assessment remains necessary to address the specific context of the patient. AI can therefore accelerate or optimize the diagnostic process, but cannot replace the human expert.

My conclusion:The potential for artificial intelligence and machine learning in healthcare is immense. The new technologies remove barriers and increase the accessibility and efficiency of an overburdened health care system. The challenges lie in data protection and the sensible networking with human experts.

Sources:

https://www.canalys.com/newsroom/smart-speakers-are-fastest-growing-consumer-tech-shipments-surpass-50-million-2018

https://ovum.informa.com/resources/product-content/virtual-digital-assistants-to-overtake-world-population-by-2021

https://www.drivendata.org/competitions/44/dengai-predicting-disease-spread/

https://www.apple.com/researchkit/

Click to access FINAL-DRAFT-Amazon-Alexa-Analysis-Report.pdf

https://www.technologyreview.com/s/608047/the-octogenarians-who-love-amazons-alexa/

Cover picture: Photo by Michael Moeller, EyeEm

These contributions should please you

No comment

Comment now

fbpx
KI-Commerce

Alexa kann Leben retten: künstliche Intelligenz im Gesundheitswesen

12. April 2018
KI im Gesundheitswesen
Lass dir den Text vorlesen
Subscribe

Benötigte Lesezeit: 4 Minuten

Siri, Alexa und Co. erlauben mehr Eigenständig- und Unabhängigkeit für Personen mit Behinderungen. Die beliebten Sprachassistenten sind nur eine von vielen Einsatzmöglichkeiten künstlicher Intelligenz im Gesundheitswesen: Maschinelles Lernen erleichtert Diagnoseverfahren oder die Kommunikation zwischen Ärzten und Patienten. Doch es gibt auch Nachteile.

56 Millionen Smartspeaker sollen 2018 weltweit verkauft werden, schätzt die global agierende Analyse Firma Canalys. Ovum, ein globales Forschungs- und Beratungsunternehmen prognostiziert, dass es bis 2021 mehr digitale Assistenten als Menschen auf der Welt geben wird. Künstliche Intelligenz ist bereits jetzt in Waschmaschinen, Autos oder Lichtschalter integriert. Langfristig werden zahlreiche Gegenstände in unserer Umgebung Sprachkommandos verstehen, erwidern oder sogar eigenständig agieren. Doch warum ist diese Technologie so erfolgreich?

Weniger Barrieren durch Sprachassistenten

Sprache ist natürlicher Bestandteil unseres Lebens und beansprucht nur wenige Hirnareale. Der durchschnittlich Mensch kann 150 Wörter pro Minute sprechen, aber nur 40 Wörter pro Minute tippen. Sprachgesteuerte Navigation ist also schneller, weniger anstrengend und intuitiver als (fast) jede andere Art der Handhabung.

Ein weiterer, wichtiger Vorteil von Siri, Cortana oder Alexa liegt in der Barrierefreiheit. So entfällt bei der Interaktion mit einem Sprachassistenten die Eingabe von Text und damit auch die Notwendigkeit Lesen und Schreiben zu können. Ein gewaltiger Fortschritt, nicht nur für Legastheniker. Auch die Augen werden nicht mehr benötigt, um beispielsweise eine Definition durchzulesen oder eine Bestellung im Internet aufzugeben. Der Assistent liest stattdessen das geschriebene Wort laut vor. Dies erlaubt sehbehinderten oder blinden Personen einen bequemeren Zugang zu Web-Inhalten. Augen- und Handfreiheit bedeuten auch für gelähmte Menschen neue Eigenständig- und Unabhängigkeit. Die Kundenbewertungen auf der Amazon-Produktseite für den Sprachassistenten „Echo“ erzählen zahlreiche Geschichten von Betroffenen.

Wenn die körpereigenen Fähigkeiten eingeschränkt sind und die Unfallgefahr steigt, können Alexa. Google Home und Co. sogar zum Lebensretter werden. Etwa bei einem Sturz in den eigenen vier Wänden mit folgenschwerer Verletzung: Ein simples Sprachkommando informiert in sekundenschnelle entweder den Notruf oder Verwandte.

Alexa im Altersheim

Ob Sprachassistenten nützlich für Senioren sind, erforschte ein Pilotprojekt in der Carlsbad by the Sea Rentnersiedlung nahe San Diego (USA). Im Februar 2017 führte die Versuchsreihe den Amazon-Sprachassistenten Alexa und die Bewohner der Gemeinde zusammen. Ziel war es, den Nutzwert der modernen Technologie für ältere Menschen (80 Jahre und älter) zu erforschen. Das Ergebnis überraschte selbst die verantwortliche Organisation Front Porch Center for Innovation and Wellbeing.

  • 75% nutzten ihren Sprachassistenten wenigstens einmal täglich
  • 100% hatten das Gefühl, dass Alexa eine Erleichterung im Alltag ist
  • 71.43% fühlten sich stärker mit Familie, Freunden und der Gemeinschaft verbunden

Die größte Herausforderung lag für die Fokus-Gruppe darin, Suchanfragen so zu formulieren, dass Alexa sie versteht. Außerdem verursachte die Stimmlage des intelligenten Gerätes Probleme bei einigen Teilnehmern mit Hörgerät. Aktuell prüft Amazon, ob die Höhen- und Tiefen des Smartspeakers künftig manuell angepasst werden können.

Künstliche Intelligenz kann keinen Arzt ersetzen

Die Verbreitung dieser sprachgesteuerter Hardware entwickelt sich synchron mit KI-basierten Gesundheits-Anwendungen. Die Einsatzgebiete gehen weit über die Assistenz im Alltag hinaus. Maschinelles Lernen ist die Grundlage für zahlreiche Apps, die etwa Ärzte mit Patienten schnell und zielgenau verbindet oder komplexe Daten verständlicher macht. Künstliche Intelligenz kann Dengue-Fieber-Epidemien zeitlich und geografisch voraussagen, Tumore erkennen, hilft Blinden zu sehen oder diagnostiziert Autismus bei Kindern. Das erste Expertensystem dieser Art wurde bereits in den frühen 70er Jahren von Edward Shortliffe in Stanford entwickelt. MYCIN optimierte die Einnahme von Antibiotika je nach Erkrankung, um Überdosierungen zu vermeiden.

KI-basierte Apps für deine Gesundheit

Apps für deine Gesundheit, basierend auf Maschinellem Lernen & Co. – Design von Jonas Barre, www.smartvizual.com

Trotz der grundlegenden Fortschritte, setzten sich KI-basierter Technologien in der Medizin nur zögerlich durch. Der Grund: Im Gesundheitswesen ist Datenschutz ein besonders kritisches Thema. Gerade Patienten-Informationen sind hochsensibel und aus guten Gründen rechtlich geschützt. Daher bleiben attraktive Wachstumszahlen eine Herausforderung.

Und es gibt weitere Einschränkungen: Maschinen können nicht ausdrücken, warum sie ein Ergebnis erzielt haben. Zwar unterstützen computergenerierte „Vorschläge“ eine Diagnose, doch die Beurteilung durch einen Arzt bleibt erforderlich, um auf den spezifischen Kontext des Patienten einzugehen. KI kann also den Diagnoseprozess beschleunigen oder optimieren, jedoch nicht den menschlichen Experten ersetzen.

Mein Fazit: Das Potenzial für künstliche Intelligenz und maschinelles Lernen im Gesundheitswesen ist immens. Die neuen Technologien beseitigen Barrieren und steigern die Zugänglichkeit und Effizienz eines überlasteten Gesundheitssystem. Die Herausforderungen liegen im Datenschutz und der sinnvollen Vernetzung mit menschlichen Experten.

Quellen:

https://www.canalys.com/newsroom/smart-speakers-are-fastest-growing-consumer-tech-shipments-surpass-50-million-2018

https://ovum.informa.com/resources/product-content/virtual-digital-assistants-to-overtake-world-population-by-2021

https://www.drivendata.org/competitions/44/dengai-predicting-disease-spread/

https://www.apple.com/researchkit/

http://fpciw.org/wp-content/uploads/sites/15/2017/12/FINAL-DRAFT-Amazon-Alexa-Analysis-Report.pdf

https://www.technologyreview.com/s/608047/the-octogenarians-who-love-amazons-alexa/

Titelbild: Photo by Michael Moeller, EyeEm

Diese Beiträge dürften dir gefallen

Kein Kommentar

Jetzt kommentieren